top of page

History of Faith Lutheran Church

Faith Lutheran Church was formed with the consolidation of Our Saviors Lutheran Church (formed in 1869 by Norwegian Immigrants) and Immanuel Lutheran Church (formed in 1869 by Swedish immigrants) after an explosion destroyed Our Saviors Lutheran Church on January 3, 1972. On September 12, 1972, the newly formed congregation became a legal entity. 

In 1973 Pastor Marvin R. Moll became the first called pastor of Faith serving until April of 1976. It was during his tenure that the congregation decided to build a new church. A dedication service was held on December 7, 1975. 

The Reverend George R. Larson served from November 1976 until his retirement on November 1, 1991. Pastor Larson challenged the congregation to mount a major fund drive to pay down the outstanding mortgage. The mortgage burning ceremony was in November of 1981. 

The congregation hired its first youth worker in 1988. In 2001, a shared part-time Youth Director for both Faith Lutheran and Calvary Covenant Churches in Evansville was hired. That position was held by Sarah Evenson. Sarah left our community in August of 2012 in order to continue her seminary studies and pursue her call to ordained ministry.

In May of 1992, Pastor Irving J. Arnquist began his call at Faith. After 18 years of "Faith"fully serving our congregation he accepted another call and left Faith July 11, 2010.

On May 20th, 2012 Faith Lutheran extended a call to Pastor Zachary W. Johnson, a first call pastor who recently graduated from the Lutheran School of Theology at Chicago ELCA. Pastor Zachary W. Johnson was installed as pastor of Faith Lutheran Church on Sunday July 29th, 2012 by Pastor Laurie Natwick, Assistant to the Bishop of the Northwestern Minnesota Synod. Pastor Zach accepted another call and left Faith on December 31, 2014.

January 2015, Faith Lutheran accepted a six month interim offer with Grace Lutheran Church, and East Moe & West Moe Lutheran Churches to explore what it would be like to be a four point parish being served by two pastors. Pastor Dennis Preston serves Grace Lutheran and Sarah Evenson is the minister of East & West Moe Lutheran churches. Sarah will be receiving her MDiv degree the end of May 2016. The agreement between the four congregations was terminated effective August 31, 2015.  Pastor Dennis Preston continued to serve Faith Lutheran as our Pastor in addition to his being the called Pastor of Grace Lutheran Church in Brandon until his retirement March 1, 2018.


October 15, 2017, Faith Lutheran and Grace Lutheran voted to become a 2-point parish and chose the name, "Grace through Faith Ministries" for our parish name.

September 2018, Pr. Sarah Berglund accepted a Call to become the pastor of "Grace through Faith Ministries Parish."

Since its inception, Faith has had a vision for ministry beyond its own doorstep supporting missionaries in many different lands, besides programs of the ELCA. The Sunday School supports children from Compassion International. The Youth Group goes on different mission trips each year. The Faith Women organization makes quilts for Lutheran World Relief and local needs, along with donations to various organizations locally and within the ELCA. 

bottom of page